Steve

Steve is a middle aged graduate of Waterloo University, and works in Stirling Ontario as a Car Salesman.  He lives with his wife as his kids are all gone off to school and have started their own lives.

I asked Steve what his opinion of Occupation was.  

“my job”

I go to work everyday and do my job/occupation of selling cars so I can support my kid that is still in University.  I have worked in Car Sales for a long time as it is a family business so its a big occupation in our family and it occupies a lot of our time.  Its hard to run a business within such a small town. Occupation has a lot to do with working a full time job.

After reading the Hito Steyerl text, Steve’s  opinion changed a little bit. 

“something that you work on” 

Occupation is still associated with jobs.  This is because as an adult I am constantly working to support my family.  And it is the one that that consumes my time and it is one thing that constantly occupies all of my time.  I understand that it can be a state, activity or any thing else really, but personally it will be linked into my job.

Author: occupationofoccupying

This project focus's on how different people focus on whats important to them, and how that thing occupies their life. Occupy as a job, as a state, or as a hobby. Some people may view what they think occupation is differently from someone else based on their life experiences. This project explores the individuality of people and their opinions on what occupation means to them.

Leave a Reply

